icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow accessibility icon account-off icon account-on icon arrow-left icon arrow-right icon attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon Combined Shape Created with Sketch. cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon giphy icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon lock icon messenger icon padlock icon Svg Vector Icons : http://www.onlinewebfonts.com/icon Panel Created with Sketch. Pattern Created with Sketch. pinterest icon Icon_PlayButton Created with Sketch. plus-thin icon plus icon Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch. search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

First team

Danjuma named supporters' Player of the Year


AFC Bournemouth AFC Bournemouth

Arnaut Danjuma has topped the vote to to be crowned the supporters' Player of the Year for 2020/21.

The Dutchman has had an outstanding season, netting 16 times, including the winner in Monday evening's play-off semi-final first leg win over Brentford.

The award was a tightly contested, with fans having their chance to name their winner from across a highly-competitive Championship campaign.

Danjuma secured 40% of the final supporter vote, just edging ahead of Asmir Begovic who polled 38%.

Philip Billing (5%), Cameron Carter-Vickers (4%) and Jefferson Lerma (3%) completed the top five, with all Cherries players still at the club who have played at least ten fixtures eligible for the prize.

Speaking after receiving the award, Danjuma said: "A big thank you to all the supporters who voted for me as supporters' Player of the Year.

"Obviously there have been a lot of highs and lows this season, this one means a lot to me because its voted on by the supporters.

"I've enjoyed the season so far, let's make sure we can finish on a high as well."

Danjuma follows in the footsteps of recent winners Aaron Ramsdale, Ryan Fraser, Nathan Ake, Artur Boruc, Simon Francis, Harry Arter, Lewis Grabban, Tommy Elphick and Marc Pugh in receiving the trophy.

Breaking News